Betty Wright My First Time Around LP 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl SOUL MOV Import NEW SEALED

  • $31.50
  • Save $7


My First Time Around is the 1968 debut LP by Betty Wright. The album was recorded when Wright was 14 years old. It includes the Top 40 hit single "Girls Can't Do What the Guys Do".

Remembered primarily for one Atlantic hit, "Clean Up Woman," Ms. Wright has been in the news lately for helping 18-year-old Joss Stone sound like a credible soul singer. Wright was writing her own songs at an even younger age: My First Time Around has crackling stories of the kind of love you regret even while you're making it ("I'm Gonna Hate Myself In The Morning"), with men you should be ashamed to know ("He's Bad, Bad, Bad").

The music is note-for-note perfect, from the organ accenting "Circle of Heartbreak" to the horn section on "Girls Can't Do What The Guys Do," appropriately the record's hit single. Featuring Clarence Reid on piano.


Side A

1. Girls Can't Do What The Guys Do
2. Funny How Love Grows Cold
3. I'm Gonna Hate Myself In The Morning
4. Circle Of Heartbreak
5. Sweet Lovin' Daddy
6. Cry Like A Baby

Side B

1. Watch Out Love
2. He's Bad, Bad, Bad
3. I Can't Stop My Heart
4. I'm Thankful
5. The Best Girls Don't Always Win
6. Just You