Beverley Martyn The Phoenix and The Turtle LP 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl NEW

  • $29.25
  • Save $5.25

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
Beverley Martyn recorded her first single "Babe I'm Leaving You" in 1965, and was chosen to launch Deram Records one year later with the Randy Newman penned single "Happy New Year". She contributed to the Simon & Garfunkel album Bookends and appeared at the Monterey Pop Festival on 16 June 1967. In 1969 she met John Martyn, whom she later married, and as a duo they issued two albums, Stormbringer! and The Road To Ruin. At various times, Martyn has worked with Levon Helm, Jimmy Page, Richard Thompson, Davy Graham and Sandy Denny. In December 2013, Beverley appeared at the Royal Festival Hall as part of a celebration of Bert Jansch, alongside friends and contemporaries such as Donovan and Robert Plant.

April 2014 will see the release of her new album entitled The Phoenix And The Turtle. Described by Beverley as a very personal album, it features songs written throughout her entire career, from her very first song, "Sweet Joy", to the previously unrecorded Nick Drake & Beverley Martyn song "Reckless Jane". The Phoenix and the Turtle is Beverley's first album in fourteen years and features contributions from ex-Counting Crows bass player Matt Malley, and ex-Los Lobos drummer Victor Bisetti.


Side A

1. Reckless Jane
2. Potter's Blues
3. Going to Germany
4. Sweet Joy

Side B

1. Nighttime
2. Levee Breaks
3. Women & Malt Whisky
4. Mountain Top
5. Jesse James